Local hospitals announce annual award shortlist

Each and every year Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals (DBTH) host an awards evening to celebrate the outstanding work of individuals and teams at the local Trust.

Presented by BBC Look North’s Harry Gration, there are 11 categories this year, covering awards for every area of expertise within the NHS. The event is an opportunity to recognise those individuals and teams that go above and beyond, ensuring patients receive the highest quality of care.

Suzy Brain England OBE, Chair of the Board at DBTH, said: “These awards are one of our most important events of the year. We know that our staff make some outstanding contributions to healthcare every day and this is our opportunity to get together and celebrate these achievements so they know their efforts have not gone unnoticed.

“Each time I attend the ceremony I am inspired by the stories of how members of Team DBTH have gone that extra mile to show they care about our patients, about their colleagues and about the people of Doncaster and Bassetlaw.”

The shortlisted nominees are (in alphabetical order):

Leader of the Year:
Nicola Holland
Sue McDonagh
Debi Oxley

Teaching Hospital Award: 
Emma Cribb
Education Placement Team
Alex Smith

Patient Champion Award: 
Samantha Woolley
Mr Dinesh Chadha
Catherine Chevalier

Unsung Hero of the Year: 
Jill Levin
Joshua Parker
Susan Howard

Rising Star Award: 
Toni Peet
Rebecca Burns
Michelle Beynon

Volunteer of the Year: 
Verna Nosworthy
Jenny Liddle
Stuart Tate

Quality Improvement Award: 
ED new model for flow team – Sam Sidwell, Donna Smith, Vika Sodiwala and Khai Mohammed
Antenatal Clinic
Rapid Assessment programme team

Collaboration Award: 
IT Development and ED
Developing a Foundation School for health
Nicola Parker and Sophie Gilhooly

Team of the Year (Medical and Clinical): 
DSA Interventional Radiology
Wards 1&3

Team of the Year (support staff): 
Clinical Therapies Admin Team
IT Development and Programme Team
Communications and Engagement

Star of the Year: 
Joanna Rutherford
Nick Brown
Hannah Pendegast
Tracey Griffiths
Kate Wright
Craig Briddick
Shirley Kingston
Rehab 2
Matty Lovell-Davies
Julie Parnell
Matthew Langer
Ryan Gomersall

The award ceremony will take place Thursday 19 September at the Doncaster Dome when the winners will be announced.