Local hospital Trust celebrates healthcare heroes at the Doncaster Dome

Last night (2 November) Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals (DBTH) hosted its annual Star Awards evening to celebrate the hard work and exceptional dedication of its hospital heroes throughout the past 12 months. 

This year’s highly anticipated awards evening took place at The Dome, hosted by Heart Radio DJ, David ‘Dixie’ Dixon. Over 500 healthcare professionals from across the Trust attended the evening, hearing the inspiring stories and contributions of all thirteen winners, as well as nominees.

Members of the Trust nominated their colleagues, recognising outstanding achievements and contributions from both individuals and teams that surpassed the call of duty in their roles.

The judging panel faced a challenging task as they reviewed over 800 commendable nominations across 13 categories – a record number of submissions for the event.

During the ceremony, accolades were announced for winners in a variety of different categories, including new honours to this year’s awards evening such as Fundraising Champion, Teaching Hospital Award and Agency/Bank Star.

The 13 hospital heroes this year are:

  • Patient Champion: Lisa Fluin (Rehab Activities Coordinator)
  • Teaching Hospital Award: Abhishek Arora (Specialist Orthopaedic Surgeon)
  • Inclusion Champion: Jeena Joseph (Clinical Educator)
  • Agency/Bank Star: Switchboard Bank Team
  • Medical/Clinical Team: Acute Stroke Team and Ward 16
  • Admin Team: Histopathology Admin Team
  • Wellbeing champion: Scott Brock (Patient Environment Assistant in Estates & Facilities)
  • Change Champion: Jo McQuade and Ward 17
  • Rising Star: Liam Boyall (Category Specialist in Procurement)
  • Fundraising Champion: Carla Spence (Founder of Ernie’s Wish)
  • Supporting Team: Capital Planning Team
  • Unsung hero: Wayne Chapman (Digital Transformation Admin Manager)
  • Star of the Year: Sally Abbott (Colposcopy Nurse)

Speaking at the ceremony, Richard Parker OBE, Chief Executive at Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals, said: “The Star Awards is a fantastic way to showcase the incredible achievements of our colleagues and teams. This year we’ve been blown away by the record number of nominations and the number of colleagues who have joined us to celebrate this amazing work within our hospital community.”

“I want to congratulate all our worthy winners and highly commended nominees – this evening we’ve seen some outstanding achievements and heard about the truly inspiring work Team DBTH does, day-in and day-out. The dedication and passion of each and every person is incredible. I hope everyone had a fantastic night, and thank you again for everything that you do.”

Each year the Star Awards is sponsored generously by various organisations and companies who offer their support in celebrating the local healthcare champions. The sponsors for this year included: NHS Fleet Solutions, Capsticks, Holt Doctors, Smith and Nephew, BPP University, IHP Vinci, Doncaster College, Maxxima, University of Sheffield, Doncaster Council and NHS Professionals.

Colleagues also took a moment to reflect on those who couldn’t be in attendance during the ceremony, with a special Nursing Legacy award presented to the family of Kay Murtgatroyd, a Registered Nurse at the Trust who sadly passed away in July, aged just 24.

Within this special section of the evening, Suzy Brain England OBE, Chair of the Board, said: “We’re presenting a special award this evening to the family of a determined, brave and caring young woman who, against all odds whilst battling her own health condition, qualified as a nurse here at DBTH. Kay Murgatroyd’s legacy will be felt at DBTH for years to come as we remember her unwavering spirit and her desire to do good.

“She was an inspiration to us all and is missed dearly by all who were fortunate enough to know her but tonight we celebrate her, all her achievements and commend her for everything she strived for and achieved.”

The Star Awards is part of the Trust’s Staff Awards and Recognition Scheme, offering the opportunity to recognise and congratulate all the diverse and amazing contributions of individuals and teams across DBTH. The ceremony will return next year for another memorable evening celebrating healthcare heroes.