Local hospitals announce results of governor elections

Foundation Trust members have voted for their hospital governors in the latest round of elections at Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals.

The election results were confirmed on 29 March and the successful candidates officially took up their seats on the Council of Governors on 1 April for a term of three years. The election introduces 10 new governors to the Council along with some re-elections to public seats.

As a foundation trust, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals is accountable to local people, patients and staff.  Its 16,000 members are represented by their elected Governors, who feed the views of their members into the Trust to shape future services.

In the Doncaster Public constituency Mike Addenbrooke and David Northwood held on to their seats and were re-elected for a further term of office.  New to the Council of Governors are David Goodhead, Ann-Louise Bayley, Dave Harcombe, Susan McCreadie, Doug Wright and Geoffrey Johnson.

In Bassetlaw, over 600 voters re-elected Hazel Brand to her Bassetlaw Public Constituency seat for another three years. The other Bassetlaw seat will be filled by Steve Wells, following his retirement from the Trust as a Theatre Service Manager.

In the Staff Governor categories, Kay Brown is newly elected to the Non-Clinical seat and Mandy Tyrell is welcomed to the Council of Governors to represent Nursing and Midwifery staff. For Medical and Dental, Dr Panikkar is elected.

Suzy Brain England, Trust Chair, said: “Congratulations to the successful candidates of our Governor elections. We are very pleased that so many people stood in these elections and are delighted to be welcoming 10 new governors to the council, demonstrating their enthusiasm and commitment to their local hospitals.  Thank you to everyone who took part, and to all those who voted.”

Brenda Maslen and Shelley Brailsford are leaving the Council of Governors after 3 years in office. George Webb and Susan Overend stepped down after 15 years of service as Governors.

Suzy said: “On behalf of the Trust I would also like to thank all of our Governors who have completed their terms of office. Their input over the years has been invaluable to us in helping us to make service improvements and to engage with our patients and find out what their views are and how we can offer them better care.”

The elections were carried out by the Electoral Reform Services, who counted nearly 2,000 votes from Foundation Trust members and hospital staff.

If you would like to become a member of Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals and have the chance to stand for election and vote next time around, you can complete the membership application form on the Trust website www.dbth.nhs.uk or contact the Foundation Trust Office on 01302 644158.

Photo shows: Governors with Suzy Brain England, Chair of the Board