Local hospitals set for awards ceremony at the Doncaster Dome this week

The excitement is building as Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals (DBTH) gears up for its annual Star Awards this week, celebrating the dedication and outstanding accomplishments of its remarkable team of over 6,800 colleagues.

This year, DBTH received an unprecedented number of nominations, with over 800 submissions from colleagues sharing heartfelt feedback about their peers and their remarkable achievements. The judging panel, made up of colleagues from a number of services and specialities, faced the challenging task of selecting this year’s shortlist, whittling down candidates to around 50.

The much-anticipated Star Awards winners will be revealed at the sold-out awards ceremony scheduled for Thursday, 2nd November 2023, at the Doncaster Dome.

Zoe Lintin, Chief People Officer at Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals, said: “I have been delighted to see the overwhelming response to this year’s Star Awards – It’s a testament to the incredible talent and dedication of our colleagues. We’ve seen an extraordinary commitment to patient care, inclusion, and excellence throughout the year, and these awards provide an opportunity to recognize and celebrate our exceptional team.”

The shortlisted nominees for the Star Awards 2023 (in no particular order) are listed below:

Patient Champion:

  • Lisa Fluin
  • Karen Boyall
  • Shannon Smith

Teaching Hospital Award:

  • Abhishek Arora
  • K Bywater/S France/J Kay
  • Hannah Lane

Inclusion Champion:

  • LGBTQ Network
  • Jeena Joseph
  • Krystal Gresham

Bank Star:

  • Olivia Ada
  • Melissa Antwhistle
  • Switchboard bank

Medical/Clinical Team:

  • Acute stroke and ward 16
  • CT scanning
  • Medical Retina Team

Admin Team:

  • Anaesthetic admin team
  • Histopathology admin team
  • AMU admin team

Wellbeing Champion:

  • Claire Parsons
  • Scott Brock
  • Amanda Peck

Change Champion:

  • Jo McQuade and ward 17
  • Zoe Close
  • Lung health check team

Rising Star:

  • Natasha Reeves
  • Liam Boyall
  • Luke Staton

Fundraising Champion:

  • Luke Hughes
  • Carla Spence
  • Helen Meynell

Supporting Team:

  • Capital planning unit
  • Patient Safety Team
  • Health and well-being team

Unsung Hero:

  • Rosie Rowley
  • Jenny Hunt
  • Wayne Chapman

Star of the Year:

  • Sally Abbott
  • Linda Markham
  • Site Team
  • Paeds ward clerks
  • Lucy Walker
  • Maternity inpatient team Bassetlaw hospital
  • Shirley Sherwood
  • Ambulatory Care Unit
  • Donna Hartich
  • Maternity pastoral team
  • Sharon Wrigglesworth
  • Gynae outpatients
  • Joy Botfield
  • Ward B5 Bassetlaw
  • Tully Monk
  • Dermatology Team
  • Cheryl Gibson & James Richardson
  • Georgina Redfearne
  • Mandy Hardy & Gary Tagg
  • Lisa Fluin
  • Theatre 1 Team Emergency Theatres
  • Mr. Dan Beral
  • CSS Finance team
  • Charoltte Jallow, Jerome Brown & Tapi Chigondo
  • Mim Boyack

DBTH wishes all the shortlisted colleagues the best of luck. The winners and highly commended nominees will be announced during the awards ceremony on the night.